Some newbies…

…are actually decent folks.

I noticed someone lurking on my property while I was there but idle. He tried to use my sailboat and I saw the “You’re not the owner” message in chat. So I went outside and asked him if I could help.

He said (in broken English, his native language was German) he was new, and lost, and looking for places where there were people, and he’d been flying around and saw my dot on the map.

I gave him a few landmarks for places like the Shelter and the NCI. As an afterthought, I gave him a freebie sailboat too, taught him how to find it in his inventory, how to rez it and how to use the Edit window to move it to the water when he rezzed it on the dock by mistake. He picked up my instructions really well, and loved the boat, and I gave him a few pieces of advice about sailing, and sailed with him for a little while before I lost track of him.

Half an hour later he sailed back again, just to say thankyou and how much he’d enjoyed the evening, he sat with me and we chatted some more, and off he went.

Now I feel all fuzzywarm and happy.

As an afterthought… I’ve actually been thinking for quite some time about being a Mentor of some sort. I know it’s not possible (or desirable) to join the official program, but does anyone have suggestions for other places? I’ve hung around a lot at the NCI but they don’t really have an official mentor system, they only have staff who take classes and I don’t particularly want to do that just yet. The Shelter seems to be pretty much the same.

And hanging out at Help Island Public or the Welcome areas just seems like an exercise in futility.

Anyone got any alternative ideas?

Leave a Reply

