at the back of the wardrobe

First of all a little background. I’m writing a novel, for NaNoWriMo, so I’m not in world much at the moment, but one thing I did yesterday was look for a writing group. I found one on the Events listing, though it was too late for me to attend, but it had an interesting exercise, to write about the oldest wearable thing in your inventory.

That got me curious, so I went looking through my inventory for my oldest things, and I put them all on.

oldeststuff_001

The oldest garment  that still remains in my inventory is this t-shirt, which was one of a bunch of things I got from the various freebie places, and dates from 2 days after I was “born” (I think it took me 2 days before I left Help Island). This one was from either Velvet or the Freebie Dungeon. Most of the freebies I deleted, mainly because they were both not very good, and also instantly recogniseable as freebies. This t-shirt was the only one I liked so I kept it. Green goes well with ginger hair, and it has thistles on the back, and I am very fond of Scotland.

I apparently didn’t keep any of the jeans or other pants from the freebie places, and my oldest pair of pants is actually also my first ever purchase in SL – this pair of jeans was purchased from the Rebel store, by Rebel Hope, and it’s still one of my favourite pairs of jeans.

I can’t actually remember what skin I wore before this one I purchased from Signature. I think I just wore system skin, because I remember having a ginger beard right from the start.  My first hair I do remember – that was the ubiquitous “Dirty Biker” hair which I tinted to ginger instead of black.

When I think about my hunt for the right skin I recall it having taken ages, and if I’d been asked to guess I would have said a month. Apparently it took only two weeks, and I’ve worn this skin ever since. There are a couple of other freebies in my inventory (a few Eloh mods and a group gift from Belezza) but I’ve never worn them. And, honestly, I never will. I can’t imagine any reason why I would want to wear another skin when the one I have is absolutely perfect. All I’ve done since then is purchase a few more beard options.

This hair came from Laqroki and was purchased on the same day I got the skin. I wore it for a long time, and I still love it, despite the awful alpha isues. It looks great in still photos but not so much moving around.  The shades are also from Laqroki, and I also picked them up on the same day. I think they were a store gift.

I didn’t bother showing the shoes because I don’t have anything left even from my first month in SL. I think I mostly wore the sneakers from the “Boy Next Door” avatar.

So, considering that everything in this pic, I got when I was 2 weeks old or less, I think I did pretty well. Mind you I did have a lot of help in the early days.

Now I suppose I could go back even further, to my first SL avatar which I had briefly in 2006 before I got bored with it…

Cas_002_004

Unfortunately I have no idea where any of these things were from. The tanktop had a wolf on it and I wish I knew where I got it because I loved that top, and would have it again if I could. The jeans look like the basic freebies. The hair, from the looks of it, I’d guess Here Comes Trouble. No clue on the skin. I looked awful.

So… what’s at the back of YOUR wardrobe?

Leave a Reply

